Sharing settings

The Settings > Sharing page is used to configure your organization level sharing options and to manage your link sharing and scheduled sharing.

See Link sharing and Scheduled sharing

Configuring sharing options

Use the following options to configure your organization level sharing permissions. If both options are set to on, users can set the sharing permission level in the dashboard's Share window.

Setting
Description
On by default?
Anyone with the link can view (Public)
Allows unlimited viewers with no authentication required. This means that a dashboard link can be shared with any member of the public.
Yes
Anyone in my organization can view (restricted by email domains)

This feature is available with a Pro or Enterprise plan

Allows unlimited viewers but requires authentication. Only users with the email domains you specify in the field below can access shared dashboards.
Users can be sent a link to a shared dashboard, where they are prompted to sign-up to create an account using the corresponding email address, before viewing the shared dashboard (this does not consume a user license).
When this setting is enabled, all shared dashboards will update to this level of sharing.
Additionally, when this setting is enabled you can optionally enable the Specify additional email domains at the workspace level toggle, which allows users with with Full control access to a workspace to specify additional email domains as a workspace level. See workspace access control.
No

Disabling the link sharing options on this page restricts access across all dashboards, including those already shared.

The Shared with column in the Manage link sharing table updates for each dashboard when you disable a previously enabled sharing option.

  • If Anyone in my organization can view is changed to off, then dashboards shared at this level have a status of Sharing disabled.
  • If Anyone with the link can view is changed to off, then dashboards with a Shared with value of Anyone change to Organization.

Re-enabling the link sharing options makes shared dashboards revert to their previous sharing Status, while keeping the same sharing URL as before.

Link sharing is disabled when both options are off, and only licensed users can view dashboards after logging in.

Settings > Sharing shows a list of dashboards which have had Link sharing enabled in their Share window.

Administrators can see all dashboards, and workspace administrators can see dashboards in their workspaces.

Link sharing for individual dashboards can be toggled using the Enable link

and Disable link
buttons, and the sharing Status is displayed as follows:

  • Active shows that the dashboard is being shared.
  • Disabled shows that a dashboard's link sharing has been disabled. Link sharing can be re-enabled by clicking the triangular play button. After pausing link sharing the link sharing URL remains the same.
  • Sharing disabled indicates that this dashboard is no longer shared, as link sharing has been disabled at the workspace or organization level.

You can delete a share for an individual dashboard and remove it from the table by clicking Delete

. If link sharing is later re-enabled for this dashboard then the sharing URL generated will be different.

See Link sharing

Manage scheduled sharing

Under the heading Manage scheduled sharing,Settings > Sharing shows a list of dashboards with Scheduled sharing enabled. For information about Manage link sharing see Link sharing.

Column
Description
Status
  • Enabled - The task will run according to the schedule.
  • Disabled - "This schedule is disabled because all selected destinations are disabled or no longer exist." Check the status of the destination(s) used in the schedule by going to Settings > Notifications.

Dashboard
Click the link to view the dashboard with the schedule.
Workspace
The name of the workspace that the dashboard is in.
Last Executed
When the schedule last ran. This will be (never) if the first scheduled time hasn't happened yet.
Delete
If you delete the schedule here, then the schedule and it's settings are removed from the dashboard.

Administrators can see all dashboards, and workspace administrators can see dashboards in their workspaces.

See Scheduled sharing

Was this article helpful?


Have more questions or facing an issue?