Workspaces settings

Admin users can manage workspaces from Settings > Workspaces. This page provides a single place to add, edit, delete and navigate to all your workspaces.

See Workspaces

How to add, edit and delete workspaces

From the Settings > Workspaces tab you can view, add, edit, and delete workspaces.

How to add or edit a workspace

  1. You can add a new workspace from either:
    • Settings > Workspaces > Add workspace.
    • + Create workspace after clicking on the dropdown next to the current workspace name on the left-hand menu.
  2. You can edit workspace settings from either:
    • Settings > Workspaces then either click the Edit workspace icon next to the workspace name, or click the workspace name on the left-hand menu.
    • Go to the workspace overview page (accessed by clicking on the workspace name on the left-hand menu) and click the top Workspace settings button.
  3. Name:
    Enter the name you want to give the workspace.
  4. Description:
    Optionally, enter a description of the workspace.
  5. Icon:
    Optionally, you can upload an image for the workspace. The image will appear across the application such as on the home page, workspace home and maps
  6. Type:
    Optionally, you can give the workspace a type from the dropdown list. This can be used for grouping, filtering or searching, for example from the Organization home page, see Organization home.
  7. Tags:
    Optionally, you can give the workspace one or more tags from the dropdown list. These can be used for grouping, filtering or searching, for example from the Organization home page, see Organization home.
  8. Default page:
    Choose the page which is shown first when someone browses to this workspace.
    Choose from:
    • Workspace overview: Sets the default landing page to your workspace dashboard collection. This is the default option used when creating a new workspace.
    • First dashboard in the list: Sets the default landing page to the first dashboard listed in the left-hand nav bar.
  9. Optionally, configure the following on the Access Control tab:

    Restrict access to this workspace:
    Optionally, enable this toggle to limit who can access this workspace. See Access Control

    Allow view-only link sharing for all dashboards in this workspace:
    When Sharing is enabled for the organization the Allow dashboard sharing toggle is shown and can be enabled or disabled for the workspace. Sharing allows dashboards in the workspace to be shared with anyone. See Sharing.

  10. Optionally, configure the following on the Advanced tab:
    Links:
    The Links section tells you how many workspaces the new workspace will be linked to. Workspaces will automatically be linked to the new workspace based on their permission settings. See Workspace linking.
    Show workspaces:
    Click this to view all workspaces that are linked to this workspace.
    You can remove linked workspaces by selecting x next to the desired workspace.
    You can add linked workspaces by typing their name.
  11. Click Add or Save.

How to delete a workspace

  1. Go to Settings > Workspaces.
  2. Click the Delete workspace icon next to the workspace that you want to delete.
  3. Click Delete.

Access control

Workspace admins can manage access control for a workspace on the Access Control tab of the Edit Workspace window, accessed via the following locations:

  • From Settings > Workspaces and clicking Edit workspace
    .
  • From a workspace overview page and clicking Workspace Settings
    .

Access control is enabled via the Restrict access to this workspace toggle. By default, access control is disabled meaning that the workspace can be viewed, edited and administered by anyone.

From here, you can assign Viewer, Editor or Full Control workspace access to users or groups that you specify in the user field.

Additional domain access

When the Specify additional email domains at the workspace level toggle is enabled on the Settings > Sharing page, the Additional email domains field is displayed.

Using this field, you can specify additional domains to be counted as part of your organization for the purpose of dashboard sharing. This means that anyone with that domain following a share link can log into SquaredUp and view the shared dashboard.

Enabling access control

When Restrict access to this workspace is enabled:

  • By default, the user setting the permissions for the workspace is given Full Control and the Everyone group will be given Viewer permissions.
  • Tailor access to the workspace, by selecting individual users or user groups from the dropdown and giving them Viewer, Editor or Full Control permissions.
    Access level
    Permissions
    Viewer
    • User can view the workspace contents (dashboards, scopes, KPIs, etc.).
    • User can add the workspace as a downstream workspace for monitoring from other workspaces.
    • User can see the workspace and related objects in their scopes (i.e., to monitor the state of the workspace).
    • User cannot edit or delete anything within the workspace, including dashboards, tiles, scopes and KPIs. User cannot configure the workspace or its contents (e.g., change workspace name, change the ACL, configure notifications).
    Editor
    • User can do everything from Viewer level, but additionally can modify the workspace contents (dashboards, scopes, KPIs, notifications, etc.).
    • User can modify workspace properties, such as name.
    • User cannot modify the workspace ACL.
    • User cannot delete the workspace.
    Full Control
    • User can do anything with the workspace, including changing its ACL and deleting it.
  • If the user is not available from the dropdown, you can invite them to the workspace by typing in their email address and then clicking Add. The new user is sent an email inviting them to create an account on SquaredUp. Once the account has been created they will gain access to the organization. See Users and Groups

Administrator special access

Administrators have special ‘administrative’ access to all workspaces. This means they see all workspaces listed under Settings > Workspaces, and they can modify workspace properties, including the ACL, for any workspace.

Note

Administrators do not see all workspaces in the main dashboarding area of SquaredUp, and do not have any access to the contents of workspaces unless they add themselves to the workspace ACL.

Was this article helpful?


Have more questions or facing an issue?