Sharing

What are shared dashboards?

Sharing a dashboard

Sharing settings

Configuring the sharing options for the organization

Managing shared dashboards

Configuring sharing for a workspace

Sharing allows an unlimited number of view-only dashboards to be shared with anyone, without requiring a user license, and is available with any paid plans. The URL of a shared dashboard can be distributed, for example via email, or can be shown on wall monitors.

What are shared dashboards?

Users who can see shared dashboards can see the whole dashboard, which updates as normal, but these users cannot click to interact with the data.

Shared dashboards:

  • Do not consume a user license.

  • Refresh as normal, every minute.

  • Are not interactive, so there is no option to change the timeframe.

  • Don't show the left-hand menu.

  • Have a different dashboard URL to the normal dashboard URL.

  • Give users an option to login if they click to drilldown on the shared dashboard.

Only standard dashboards can be shared, not other pages such as the Monitoring or Map pages.

Organization administrators can control the overall sharing options, with the default option being Anyone with the link can view. Workspace administrators can switch sharing on or off for a workspace, and dashboard editors can then share individual dashboards. These settings are described below.

Sharing a dashboard

Users can share a dashboard with others by clicking the Share button on the dashboard.

This short video (1 min 41) shows how to easily share dashboards:

The sharing options available for a dashboard depend on the overall sharing options set by administrators at the organization level, and whether the workspace editors have switched sharing on or off for that workspace. See Sharing settings

Licensed users with editor access and above to the workspace can change the sharing level for an individual dashboard in that workspace. See Workspaces

Licensed users with viewer access to the workspace can click the Share button and copy the sharing link when viewing the interactive dashboard, but only using the existing sharing options.

Anyone with the linkAnyone who clicks on the link can see the dashboards with no restrictions.No login is needed. This is a public URL.
Anyone in my organizationOnly users with the specified email domains can view. The specified email domains are set by an administrator at the organization level in Settings > Sharing.Authentication is needed.
Only members of this workspaceThis shares the normal dashboard URL, so the user has to have a user license, and then login as normal to view the dashboard.Only licensed users can view. This is the default option, and is always available.

The option Configure sharing settings is only available to administrators and takes you to Settings > Sharing.

Sharing settings

Sharing can be configured at the organization, workspace and dashboard levels, with sharing restrictions filtering down from organization to workspace to dashboard. For example, if Anyone with the link can view is set to off at the organization level, then that option cannot be selected when sharing the dashboard. Or if sharing is set to off for a workspace then dashboards in that workspace cannot be shared to anyone who does not have a user license.

Configuring the sharing options for the organization

Sharing options are set in Settings > Sharing, where administrators can set which sharing options are available to be used.

Anyone with the link can view (Public) Unlimited viewers, no authentication required. This means that a dashboard link can be shared with any member of the public and there is no authentication. On by default.
Anyone in my organization can view (restricted by email domains)Unlimited viewers, requires authentication. This means that only users with the specified email domains can access shared dashboards. Users are prompted to sign-up to create an account before viewing the shared dashboard (does not consume a user license). If this is set, all shared dashboards will change to this level of sharing. Off by default.

When both options are set to on, users can choose the level of sharing when sharing the dashboard.

When Anyone in my organization can view is on the email domains should be entered in the box below, for example contoso.com. Users can then be sent a link to a shared dashboard, and they are prompted to sign-up to create an account, using the corresponding email address, before viewing the shared dashboard.

Changing sharing options

Disabling the sharing options here will restrict access across all dashboards. Dashboards that are already shared will change to the more secure level, or have their sharing disabled.

You will see the Shared with column in the table on the sharing settings page change for each shared dashboard when you disable previously enabled sharing options.

  • If Anyone in my organization can view is changed to off, then dashboards shared at this level will have sharing disabled.

  • If Anyone with the link can view is changed to off, then dashboards shared with Anyone will change to Organization.

Re-enabling the sharing options will allow already shared dashboards to revert to their previous sharing option with the same sharing URL as before.

Disabling sharing

Sharing is disabled when both options are off, as only licensed users can view dashboards by logging in as normal. The sharing option does not then show for workspaces, and the sharing button on a dashboard will allow users to share the normal dashboard URL with licensed users.

Using gmail.com or outlook.com is not secure as it would allow anyone with this kind of email address to view dashboards.

Managing shared dashboards

Settings > Sharing shows a list of shared dashboards. Administrators can see all shared dashboards, and workspace administrators can see shared dashboards in their workspaces.

Sharing of individual dashboards can be disabled and re-enabled using the play and pause buttons, and sharing Status is shown:

  • Green Active shows that the dashboard is being shared.

  • Amber Disabled shows that a dashboard's sharing has been disabled. Sharing can be re-enabled by clicking the triangular play button. After pausing dashboard sharing the dashboard sharing URL remains the same.

  • Gray Sharing disabled indicates that this dashboard is no longer shared, as sharing has been disabled at the workspace or organization level.

You can delete a share for an individual dashboard using the bin button. If sharing is later re-enabled for this dashboard then the sharing URL will be different. This can be useful if you want to stop all users accessing a shared dashboard if they have been sent the URL, until users are sent a new sharing URL.

Configuring sharing for a workspace

Sharing can be switched on or off on a per workspace basis in the workspace settings from Settings > Workspaces. Sharing is on by default.

Any licensed user with editor access and above to a workspace can share dashboards in that workspace.

For information on workspace settings see Workspaces


Have more questions or facing an issue?