Dashboards

Dashboards are where you add tiles to show data as tables or graphs, and where you configure monitoring.

Dashboards refresh once a minute.

This one minute video shows you how to add a data source and a data tile with a line graph visualization to a new dashboard using the dashboard designer:

Editing existing dashboards

SquaredUp comes with some sample dashboards and sample data to allow you to see the visualizations available. You can edit these dashboards and tiles, as you can with the sample dashboards installed with any data source.

  1. To edit a dashboard click the Edit pencil button at the top of the screen.

  2. Then to edit a tile click the Edit tile pencil button at the top of a tile.

    You can also select Clone tile or Delete tile.

Creating new dashboards

  1. Navigate to the workspace where you want the dashboard, or create a new workspace by clicking + Create workspace after clicking on the dropdown next to the current workspace name on the left-hand menu.

  2. Click the + next to Dashboards on the left-hand menu to create a new dashboard.

  3. Rename the dashboard by overwriting the New Dashboard title.

Configuring a tile on a dashboard

There are three types of tile that you can configure:

  • Data – visualize data on your dashboard, see Data Tiles

  • Image – add an image to your dashboard, see Image Tiles

  • Text – add text to your dashboard, see Text Tiles

Dashboard Settings

Reorder dashboards

By default, dashboards appear in alphabetical order on the left-hand menu within a workspace. You are able to reorder the list of dashboards to suit your needs. You may want to do this if you are frequently using specific dashboards and want them to be at the top of the list of dashboards.

To reorder the dashboards, hover over the drag (hamburger) icon to the left of the dashboard name and then drag the dashboard to where you would like it to appear in the list. Changes are saved automatically.

Only members of the Admin group, users with Full Control or users with Editor permissions are able to change the order of the dashboards within a specific workspace.

Dashboard Timeframe

The dashboard timeframe is the current timeframe setting for a dashboard. Users can change the dashboard timeframe to see data for a different time span, for example, instead of showing data from "the last 12 hours" it can be changed to show data from "the last 7 days".

Tiles can be configured to:

  • Use dashboard timeframe (default). For these tiles the data shown will change when the user changes the dashboard timeframe.

  • Use a fixed timeframe from the options available. These tiles show a clock icon and hovering shows the fixed timeframe configured. The data will not change when the dashboard timeframe is changed.

Tip: Indicate with the name of a tile if the tile's timeframe can be changed. For example, naming a tile "Performance during the last week" tells users that this tile always shows data for the last week. Naming a tile just "Performance" indicates to users that changing the dashboard timeframe will change the data.

Share

The Share button is on every dashboard and allows you to share the dashboard URL with colleagues.

Ticking Collapse navigation appends ?hideNav=true to the URL to show the dashboard full screen without any navigation, which can be useful for wall monitors etc.

More options

The More options ellipsis button shows you buttons to:

  • Clone – create a copy of the whole dashboard, for example, if you wish to copy the layout but change the information slightly.

  • Copy to – create a copy of the dashboard to another workspace. This also copies any data sources and monitoring to the newly created dashboard.

  • Edit JSON – for advanced editing.

  • Delete – this permanently removes the dashboard and cannot be undone.


Have more questions or facing an issue?